About Us |  The Running of CUCA |  Who’s Who


CUCA was founded in its present form in 1921, although Conservative groups in Cambridge have existed since at least 1882. Since then, the Association has nurtured the talents of a great many men and women who have gone on to become leading figures in Conservative politics and thought.

Twenty-two former chairmen have been elected to Parliament since Lent 1950, including eight in a row from Michaelmas 1959 to Lent 1962, many of whom served in the cabinets of Thatcher and Major. These include Kenneth Clarke (Home Secretary 1992-93, Chancellor of the Exchequer 1993-97, Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice 2010-12), Douglas Hurd (Home Secretary 1985-89, Foreign Secretary 1989-95), and Norman Lamont (Chancellor of the Exchequer 1990-93).

Four chairmen from the 1970s have since become MPs, among them Andrew Mitchell, Secretary of State for International Development, who is a current vice-president.

Recent CUCA additions to the Conservatives’ Parliamentary ranks include Greg Hands and Graham Stuart, both of whom were chairmen in the 1980s. A full list of former chairmen can be found under the Alumni section, but look out for Tam Dalyell, Labour MP from 1962 to 2005!